November 9, 8:20 a.m.

It appears that North Carolina Democrats have preserved Gov. Roy Cooper’s power to successfully block Republican bills on abortion and other divisive issues by tamping down GOP seat gains at the General Assembly. Results from Tuesday’s elections show that Republicans were headed toward gaining a veto-proof majority in the Senate. But leaders from both major parties said the GOP fell just short in the House. The failure means GOP leaders won’t be able to successfully override Cooper’s vetoes at will during his final two years in office. It could sink GOP goals of restricting abortion further in 2023.

11:52 p.m.

Rep. Ted Budd has won the Senate race in North Carolina, according to a race call from the Associated PressBudd defeated Democrat Cheri Beasley, the first Black state Supreme Court chief justice in North Carolina history. Budd benefitted from the partisan lean in the state, where a Democrat has not been elected to the Senate since 2008.

11:44 p.m.

Forsyth County District Attorney Jim O’Neill has been reelected after fending off a challenge by former district court judge Denise Hartsfield.

O’Neill won with 51 percent of the vote in his closest race since taking over the office in 2009, according to complete but unofficial results.

O’Neill was the Republican nominee for North Carolina attorney general in 2020. He lost that race to incumbent Democrat Josh Stein.


11:33 p.m.

BREAKING: Democrat Kathy Manning wins reelection to U.S. House in North Carolina's 6th Congressional District. #APracecall at 11:31 p.m. EST.

11:20 p.m 

Two local Black sheriffs who defeated white incumbents in 2018 have won their reelection bids. 

In Guilford County, incumbent Democrat Danny Rogers defeated Republican Phil Byrd, a former deputy. Rogers won his first term in 2018 by defeating longtime incumbent BJ Barnes.

In Forsyth, incumbent Bobby Kimbrough defeated Republican Ernie Leyba. Leyba had previously run in the Republican primary for sheriff in 2018 but lost to longtime incumbent Bill Schatzman. 

Both Rogers and Kimbrough were the first Black sheriffs elected in their respective counties.


11:06 p.m.

AP is reporting Republican David Rouzer wins reelection to U.S. House in North Carolina's 7th Congressional District.

10:31 p.m.

AP is reporting Republican Chuck Edwards wins election to U.S. House in North Carolina's 11th Congressional District.

9:28 p.m.

AP is reporting Democrat Jeff Jackson wins election to U.S. House in North Carolina's 14th Congressional District.

9:19 p.m.

AP is reporting Republican Virginia Foxx wins reelection to U.S. House in North Carolina's 5th Congressional District.

8:23 p.m.

AP is reporting Republican Patrick McHenry wins reelection to U.S. House in North Carolina's 10th Congressional District.

8:16 p.m.


7:30 p.m.

Polls are now closed in North Carolina. Three precincts have been extended by an extra hour, one in Columbus, Robeson, and Wilson counties.

7:24 p.m.


6:40 p.m.

Ever wondered how the Associated Press calls races? Find out more here. And stay tuned to 88.5 WFDD for live coverage with results and analysis beginning at 8 p.m. 

Copyright 2022 WFDD. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. AP contributed to this report.

300x250 Ad

300x250 Ad

Support quality journalism, like the story above, with your gift right now.