Cooper To Appeal For Federal Disaster Aid

Cooper To Appeal For Federal Disaster Aid

12:05pm Aug 22, 2018
Governor Roy Cooper will appeal a FEMA decision to deny a disaster declaration for 13 counties in North Carolina. (Gerry Broome/Associated Press)

North Carolina's governor says he'll keep seeking federal aid for more than a dozen western counties damaged by flooding, landslides and mudslides in the spring.

Gov. Roy Cooper announced Tuesday his office will appeal the Federal Emergency Management Agency's decision to deny his request for a major disaster declaration for 13 counties.

A FEMA declaration would open the door for funds for affected people and communities. The agency's director declined to provide aid, in part saying state and local governments could handle the damage caused in May.

Cooper said in a release that five people died because of the storms, with home and business damage and washed out roads and bridges. The U.S. Department of Agriculture already declared four western counties affected by the rains disaster areas to help farmers.

Copyright 2018 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
Support your
public radio station